NEMJDS Board of Directors


Our Board

The N.E. Miles Jewish Day School (NEMJDS) Board of Directors is composed of members who embody the broad and diverse nature of Birmingham’s Jewish Community.  According to the by-laws, the Board of Directors is comprised of at least nineteen and not more than thirty four members with representation from the three local synagogues, Chabad, the Levite Jewish Community Center, and constituents of the Birmingham Jewish Federation and Collat Jewish Family Services. The chairperson of the NEMJDS Endowment Advisory Committee, the president of the Parent-Teacher Association of the NEMJDS and the immediate Past President of the NEMJDS Board of Directors shall also be a Director. Additional seats on the board are filled by Day School alumni, parents, and community leaders.

Executive Committee

President Susan Greene
Administrative Vice President Sam Friedman
Vice President of Education and Personnel Greg Odrezin
Vice President of PR and Recruitment Carlie Stein
Vice President of Ways and Means Brett Chessin
Treasurer Bruce Downs
Secretary Brooke Kaplan
Head of School Debra Abolafia
Immediate Past President Simmy Barrocas

Board of Directors

Barbara Aland Jan Jaffe Lynn Raviv
Barbara Brande Kendal Jaffe David Romanoff
Julie Cohen Ilene Kosoff Robbie Rothenberg
Elliot Corenblum Florina Newcomb Josh Rutsky
Lisa Engel Jessica Nissenbaum Andrea Shapiro

Ex Officio: Rabbi Stephen Slater, Rabbi Moshe Rube, Lauren Schwartz, Richard Friedman, Sally Friedman, Cantor Jessica Ruskin



(205) 879.1068


4000 Montclair Road

Birmingham, AL 35213