Faculty/Staff/ Administration
Administrative Staff:
Debra Abolafia
dabolafia@nemjds.org
Title: Head of School
Education:  Project SuLaM, RAVSAK, 2011; Queens College, New York, BA in Elementary Education, 1983; Hunter College, New York, MS in Special Education, 1985
Joined NEMJDS: 2011
Robin Berger
rberger@nemjds.org
Title: Director of Advancement
Education: University of Toronto, Canada; Honors BA, Sociology and Political Science, 1987
Joined NEMJDS: 2011
Pamela Cohen
pcohen@nemjds.org
Title: Operations Manager
Joined NEMJDS: 2003
Susan Biedinger
sbiedinger@nemjds.org
Title
: Business Manager
Education: Brenau University, Gainesville, GA, Bachelor of Science , Merchandising & Advertising, 1981
Joined NEMJDS:  2012
Lynn Raviv
lraviv@nemjds.org
Title
: Director of Development
Joined NEMJDS: 1991

Faculty:

Elizabeth Bernstein
ebernstein@nemjds.org
Subjects: General Studies, Grade 2
Education: University of Alabama, MA in Elementary Education (focus: children's literacy), 2013; University of Alabama, B.S. in Education, 2012
Joined NEMJDS: 2013
  Julie Sokol Crapia
jcrapia@nemjds.org
Subjects: General Studies, Grade 4
Education: Jacksonville State University, B.S. in Education, 1993
Joined NEMJDS: 2013
Rabbi Yossi Friedman
yfriedman@nemjds.org
Subjects: Judaic Studies, Grades 5 through 8
Education: United Lubavitcher Yeshivot, Rabbinic Ordination, 1993; Rabbinical College of America, B.A in Judaic Studies, 1991
Joined NEMJDS:  1993
Steve Goldman
sgoldman@nemjds.org
Title: Technology Coordinator
Subjects: Computer
Education: Command Sergeant Major, United States Army, Retired
Joined NEMJDS: 2005
Janet Gresham
jgresham@nemjds.org
Subjects:  Math, Social Studies, and History, Grades 5 through 8; Educational Support Coordinator
Education: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Master of Education, 1982; Furman University, B.A. in Education, 1975
Joined NEMJDS: 1993
Marsha Henderson
mhenderson@nemjds.org
Subjects: Art & Physical Education, Grades K through 8, English as a Second Language
Education: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Certification in Special Education/Emotional Disorders, 1999; Baylor University, B.A. in Education and Special Education, 1977
Joined NEMJDS: 1999
Sheri Krell
skrell@nemjds.org
Subjects: Judaics and Hebrew Language, Grades K and 1; Judaics Team Coordinator
Education: Seigel College, Master’s in Jewish Education, 2005; Boston University, Master’s in Learning Disabilities, 1986; University of Alabama, B.A. in Special Education, 1983
Joined NEMJDS: 1994
Paul Miller
pmiller@nemjds.org
Title: Librarian
Subjects: Library, Grades K through 5; Music, Grades K and 1
Education: University of Alabama at Birmingham, M.A. in Special Education, 1990 ; Auburn University, B.A in Special Education, 1976
Joined NEMJDS: 2003
Jane Ponder
jponder@nemjds.org
Subject: General Studies, Kindergarten and Grade 1
Education: University of Alabama at Birmingham, M.A. in Early Childhood Education, 1980; Auburn University, B.A. in Early Childhood Education, 1975
Joined NEMJDS: 2002
Frumie Posner
fposner@nemjds.org
Subject: Judaic Studies, Grades 3 and 4
Education: Beth Rivkah Teacher’s Seminary, B.A. in Education, 1985
Joined NEMJDS: 1987
Claire Rottembourg
crottembourg@nemjds.org
Subject: Music, Grades 2 through 8
Education: Sorbonne (Paris), Paris Conservatory
Joined NEMJDS: 2011
Website: www.claire-rottembourg.com
Susan Stein
sstein@nemjds.org
Subjects: Judaic Studies & Hebrew Language, Grades 2 and 5 through 8
Education: McGill University
Joined NEMJDS: 1990
Kimberly Tate
ktate@nemjds.org
Subjects: General Studies, Grade 3; Organic Garden Supervisor
Education: Auburn University, B.A. in Special Education, 1978
Joined NEMJDS: 2003
Annette Troxell
atroxell@nemjds.org
Subjects: English, Science, and Language Arts, Grades 5 through 8; Educational Support Coordinator
Education: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Master’s in Special Education, 1981; Rhodes College, B.S. in Biology, 1977
Joined NEMJDS: 1996
Tomeka Turner
tturner@nemjds.org
Subjects: First Grade Assistant; After-School Care Coordinator
Education: Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL, BS in Business Administration, 2006
Joined NEMJDS: 2011

Non-Educational Staff:

Walter Turner
Title: Custodian
Joined NEMJDS: 2012

To contact staff by phone, please contact the school office at (205) 879-1068 during office hours. Staff will be given a message and your call will be returned as soon as possible.

About Us

 

 

 

 

 
N.E. Miles Jewish Day School
4000 Montclair Road
Birmingham, AL 35213
Website designed and maintained by
Eric J. Rzeszut
Phone: (205) 879-1068     Fax: (205) 879-6183
Email: schoolfeedback@nemjds.org