Community is fundamental at the NEMJDS. Together, as a professional learning community, we approach education as a shared endeavor among parents, students, and teachers to best meet the needs of each child.

Faculty and Staff

Each member of the N. E. Miles Jewish Day School team values children as individuals who develop at their own pace and learn in their own way. With this in mind, our staff creates and teaches a curriculum that allows each child, from the youngest to the oldest, to grow with a sense of achievement and self-confidence. We offer children multiple avenues through which they learn and express their understanding, creativity, and imagination.

Admin Team

Debra Abolafia

Head of School

Rebekah Weinberger

Director of Advancement

Susan Biedinger

Director of Business & HR

Steven Perlman

Administrative Assistant

Our Board

The N.E. Miles Jewish Day School (NEMJDS) Board of Directors is composed of members who embody the broad and diverse nature of Birmingham’s Jewish Community. According to the by-laws, the Board of Directors is comprised of at least nineteen and not more than thirty four members with representation from the three local synagogues, Chabad, the Levite Jewish Community Center, and constituents of the Birmingham Jewish Federation and Collat Jewish Family Services. The chairperson of the NEMJDS Endowment Advisory Committee, the president of the Parent-Teacher Association of the NEMJDS and the immediate Past President of the NEMJDS Board of Directors shall also be a Director. Additional seats on the board are filled by Day School alumni, parents, and community leaders.

Executive Committee 2020-2021

Co-President Sam Friedman
Co-President Bruce Downs
Administrative Vice President Brooke Kaplan
Vice President of Education and Personnel Sheri Krell
Vice President of PR and Recruitment Carlie Sommerville
Vice President of Ways and Means Ilene Kosoff
Treasurer Jan Jaffe
Secretary Sarah Kunin

Board Members 2020-2021

Barbara Brande Jamie Odrezin Josh Rutsky
Steve Brickman Lynn Raviv Evan Salter
Julie Cohen Nadav Raviv Sarah Schaeffer
Jackie Feldman Marc Rice Andrea Shapiro
Kendal Jaffe David Romanoff Asaf Stein
Florina Newcomb Danielle Rosenbaum
Jessica Nissenbaum Robbie Rothenberg

Ex Officio: Rabbi Stephen Slater, Rabbi Moshe Rube, Lauren Schwartz, Danny Cohn, Sally Friedman, Rabbi Yossi Posner, Rabbi Adam Wright